Will This Presentation Look Okay?

Decorating By MerlotCook Updated 14 Sep 2011 , 10:18pm by Coral3

MerlotCook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MerlotCook Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 4:39pm
post #1 of 9

I am doing a 14", 10" and 6" cake in which the tiers are not centered, but closer to the back. I need more servings than this, so off to the side of the main cake I will have a 10" and 6" decorated the same. I have never done 2 cakes like this before- is there another route I should be taking or will this look fine? Thanks for any ideas!

8 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 5:38pm
post #2 of 9

If it's a wedding cake, what does the bride think? Does she like this type of setup?

MerlotCook Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 5:43pm
post #3 of 9

She showed me a picture of a 3 tier cake, and I told her I thought I could do it 4 tiers and get the right number of servings. After looking at my pans I realize this is impossible. This is the only possible solution I think. The bride is pretty indecisive about everything and her wedding is Saturday.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 6:54pm
post #4 of 9

I think it will look fine, but it's not my opinion that counts... if she's okay with it, then there's no problem to solve.

If she's not okay with it, here's another possible option... I assume the serving goal is 166 (not including the 6" top anniversary tier).
You could still do a three tier--16" x 12" that serves 156 (not including an 8" top anniversary tier).
I don't know what the impossibility is about your pans... perhaps you don't own a 16" round??? Good luck with this bride.

MerlotCook Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 7:23pm
post #5 of 9