Cake Advice

Decorating By Aish90 Updated 14 Sep 2011 , 7:14pm by diane

Aish90 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aish90 Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 7:38am
post #1 of 5

I recently posted add to make cakes. Until now I have only made cakes for family and friends. I have received an inquiry about how much I would charge .
I am willing to charge low, as I am new to this. But how low? Also how do I know how much cake to make to feed 35-40 people?

The cakes I have made before are:
chocolate cake with cinnamon and caramel frosting
Vanilla cake with swiss meringue butter-cream

She has asked me if I can make a cake with vanilla frosting and strawberry filling. Does anyone have a recipe they are certain is good for strawberry filling? She also asked me to make cupcakes ' the best flavour you got' ....but I don't really have a wide range.... does anyone have any ideas? recipes?

I truly want to do a good job on this and have always wanted to make cakes for other people but have always been too afraid.

I would appreciate ANY guidance/advice/help/recipe for a newbie. Please help.

tc

Aish

4 replies
Aish90 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aish90 Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 7:59am
post #2 of 5

Also, how do i plan making this cake for 35-40 people as well as 30 cupcakes for the 24th?

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 2:09pm
post #3 of 5

To be honest, I think you should play with recipes before you start taking orders. I don't always feel that a cake that you are getting paid to make is a great time to try out new recipes.

This is a chart that tells you how many servings different size cakes will give you. http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm

And this is a thread that will give you some idea of pricing.
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-694973-pricing.html

You said you are afraid to do cakes for others, what are your fears?

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile