Need Fondant By Friday.. Need Opinions

Decorating By DECOR8Rgirl Updated 14 Sep 2011 , 12:52am by cakeandpartygirl

DECOR8Rgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DECOR8Rgirl Posted 13 Sep 2011 , 3:34pm
post #1 of 16

I need to have fondant by this Friday. I have made MMF, but notice it rolls out a lot softer than Wilton's (which tastes gross). I am going to be covering a 3 tier cake, and will be doing some decorations in the fondant/gum past molds (so nothing sculptural like bows).

Should I flavor Wilton's, then combine the two together to get the benefit of the MMF taste, but the durability of Wilton? What about Duff's?

I am going for taste and ease of use as I am a beginner. I can't get Satin Ice or Fondariffic by then since there are no local stores nearby, and I don't want to spend $40 in shipping - this is for my anniversary, not a paying client.

Thanks!

15 replies
bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 13 Sep 2011 , 3:50pm
post #2 of 16

Personally I'd go with Michele Foster's fondant (in the recipes section). It's very easy to use, works like a dream and tastes delicious!! icon_biggrin.gif

Herekittykitty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Herekittykitty Posted 13 Sep 2011 , 4:28pm
post #3 of 16

I'm a fan of MMF. I find it very easy to work with. Wilton like you said tastes gross and I won't use it unless I have to and only then for decorations.

Reyna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Reyna Posted 13 Sep 2011 , 4:41pm
post #4 of 16

I mix about 1/4 of white modeling chocolate into my fondant works fantastic easy to handle and super good taste! (home made fondant) nothing better! if you try it make sure you knead your chocolate first or you will have chunks of chocolate in your fondant.

dzh115 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dzh115 Posted 13 Sep 2011 , 4:44pm
post #5 of 16

If you have Amazon Prime, you can order Fondarific from Amazon with free two day shipping. It costs about $25 for 5 pounds.