Hawaiian Themed Cake?

Decorating By Britterfly Updated 13 Sep 2011 , 1:05pm by Britterfly

Britterfly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Britterfly Posted 7 Sep 2011 , 9:16pm
post #1 of 5

My mom's friend asked me today if I could make her a Hawaiian themed cake for her 7 year old daughter... her birthday is THIS Saturday (the
10th) so I don't have a lot of time.

I saw this cake on here & would love to do something like this...

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1718239

I am new to cake decorating & have only worked with buttercream & royal icing so far. I have no gotten into gum paste & fondant yet.

I also have not done any tiered cakes yet either. I was wondering if y'all could help answer a few questions for me?

1. Tiered cakes: For the cake in the link above ^ How should I stack/tier them? Do I need Dowel rods for support on that type of cake? It is a 6" cake on top of a 9" cake - double layer. I think I read somewhere that not all cakes need dowel rods?

2. How do I make the Palm Trees? I know you use a pretzel stick for the tree itself. I'm guessing the leaves are fondant or gum paste (or a mix of both)? How do I make those? Could I just cut out some leaf shapes & then cut some slits? Kind of like the tree in the picture above.

3. How do I make Hibiscus flowers using fondant or gum paste? Any links to tutorials or videos would be great!

4. The Birthday Sign: Should I make the sign out of fondant or gum paste?

5. If I make fondant/gum paste figures & accents... should I make them the day before & let them all dry overnight?

6. The Grass Skirt that is around the 6" cake: How do I make this? I'm guessing you frost the cake green then you roll out some green fondant, cut little strips (but not all the way up) then attach it to the frosted cake?

7. Surf Board/Number: How do you get the fondant/gum paste surf board to stand up?