Help With Cake Baking

Decorating By stephanie22 Updated 2 Sep 2011 , 7:31pm by stephanie22

stephanie22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephanie22 Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 7:24pm
post #1 of 8

Hey yall im new to the whole themed cake decorating and such.
i happen to be very good at the decorating part with fondant and all that, but im having an issue with the actual baking of the cakes, i ususally start a cake 1 day sometimes 2 before then event, as some decorating take much longer than otherrs, but im wondering how do i store these cakes in the meantime, since i do it part time mostly when i come home from work ill usually bake the cake one night then ice it the next then decorate it right after BC hardens up a bit.. when the cake is baked should i store it in freezer,fridge, or out? wrapped up in saran wrap or in a cake cover in room temperature, i just wanted some help on what to do from the moment the cake is baked up till its time to frost and cover the cake !!
pls help icon_smile.gif thanks

7 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 1 Sep 2011 , 7:48pm
post #2 of 8

When my cake isn't iced I just wrap the layers in plastic wrap, usually two to three layers and leave them out on the cabinet.

SRMC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SRMC Posted 2 Sep 2011 , 2:09am
post #3 of 8

yup I do that too

stephanie22 Posted 2 Sep 2011 , 4:06am
post #4 of 8

Thanks i just wasnt sure beause i thought leaving them out they would dry right up . I appreciate you taking the Time to answer!

SRMC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SRMC Posted 2 Sep 2011 , 5:43pm
post #5 of 8

I read recently too if you put a piece of bread by the cake and put it in a container or one of those cake carriers it keeps it moist

Narie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Narie Posted 2 Sep 2011 , 6:14pm
post #6 of 8