Determining Markup On Pricing

Business By rlowry03 Updated 29 Sep 2011 , 2:37am by coldtropics

rlowry03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rlowry03 Posted 30 Aug 2011 , 7:42pm
post #1 of 16

I'm just getting started selling cakes, and I don't know how to set my prices! I've read through a ton of threads on here and gotten help on what to figure into the cost.

I know what my materials/ingredients cost. And since I don't have commercial space, I have limited overhead. So how do I figure out what percentage to markup the product over basic ingredient cost?

And how do I figure out what to pay myself per hour? As it is, since I'm just starting to think about business, I don't really know how long it takes me to make things. I know that'll come with experience. But I also don't know what my time is worth...

I priced the only bakery in my town, and as it is I'm charging more than they are! And they have overhead! They charge $9 for a dozen cupcakes with buttercream! That only covers my ingredients!

15 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 30 Aug 2011 , 8:27pm
post #2 of 16

Hourly wages for cake decorators are typically $10-15/hour (or more) depending on location and skill. Profit margin is usually 20-30%, but if selling homemade food is legal in your state you should have some leeway to lower that a little if necessary.

Don't worry too much about a bakery that charges $9 for a dozen cupcakes, their customers are not in your target demographic.

rlowry03 Posted 30 Aug 2011 , 9:11pm
post #3 of 16

Thanks Jason. Having a basic markup percentage of 20-30% helps me get started!

I'd love to rent a commercial kitchen, but since I'm just getting started, it's not in my budget. But if it's a goal I need to make enough to start saving for it! And $9/dozen definitely isn't going to do that!