Help With Layering Cakes..please!!

Decorating By LindzerBee Updated 29 Aug 2011 , 6:25pm by fondantgrl

LindzerBee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindzerBee Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 1:39am
post #1 of 6

I am new to fondant decorating and noticed that on some of my cakes that I fill with frosting, the frosting pushes out of the layers underneath the fondant and a sort of ripple effect is visible. It isn't apparent right away, but usually happens after the cake sits overnight. I do the frosting "border" before filling in the entire layer. I'm not sure what I am doing wrong. Is the frosting too thin maybe?

I tried uploading a picture to make what I'm saying clearer, but the uploading feature doesn't seem to be working. I will come back and try again tomorrow, but any help in the mean time is greatly appreciated!!

5 replies
Baker_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Baker_Rose Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 1:57am
post #2 of 6

You need to allow your cakes to settle longer so they don't "smish" with the weight of the fondant and the pressure you use applying the fondant. When I have the top layer of cake on, I either give it a good press with my hand, or lay a cardboard over the top and press. Then I crumb coat and set aside or refrigerate.

I also never use a soft filling with my fondant covered cakes. If it is so soft that it must be refrigerated to keep it in place then I don't put fondant on it, just buttercream.

Tami icon_smile.gif

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 1:59am
post #3 of 6

There are several reasons this might happen.
1) you might be using too much filling
2) your dam icing isn't stiff enough