How Do You Do Your Backdrops For Your Photos?

Decorating By Periperi Updated 25 Aug 2011 , 8:17am by Relznik

Periperi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Periperi Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 10:54pm
post #1 of 20

I'm just a hobby baker who makes cakes for family and friends. Since I can't legally sell my cakes, I haven't really gotten too serious about the quality of photos I've been taking. I would like to get a job in the cake industry some day and was thinking it would be a good idea to have some sort of portfolio of the work I've done. So far all my pictures are of my cakes sitting on my kitchen table. I think the curtains and the wood table take away from the cakes and "cheapen" them. How do you hang your background and what do you use? I want my photos to look more professional and would appreciate any advice you might have. Thank you!!

19 replies
kaat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaat Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 11:10pm
post #2 of 20

I've used wrapping paper, curtains, scrap material and dollar store table cloths. I also purchased the white tri-fold poster board (from staples). That works really well. Make sure your area is well lit and your background is not shiny.
HTH

Relznik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Relznik Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 11:11pm
post #3 of 20

I do mine with a piece of black fabric on a clothes drier and a coffee table!! .... like this

cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 23 Aug 2011 , 11:16pm
post #4 of 20