Looking For Wisconsin Bakers.cottage Law?

Business By weidertm24 Updated 17 Aug 2011 , 4:36pm by jenmat

weidertm24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weidertm24 Posted 16 Aug 2011 , 3:31am
post #1 of 7

Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started doing cakes(for family/friends). I've been doing them for about 6 months now. Wondering what the laws are as far as home baking goes. I've heard both ways. And I'm so confused as to what the law actually is..

Thanks in advance.

6 replies
Pandamas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pandamas Posted 16 Aug 2011 , 3:45am
post #2 of 7

I'm from WI and I'm pretty sure they're pretty strict about what you can do from home. A lady in New Berlin did our wedding cake out of her house, but in order to be licensed she had to build a commercial kitchen in her basement and there were lots of requirements for her to pass her health inspection. I'll be interested to hear what you find out- where in WI are you?

weidertm24 Posted 16 Aug 2011 , 3:51am
post #3 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandamas

I'm from WI and I'm pretty sure they're pretty strict about what you can do from home. A lady in New Berlin did our wedding cake out of her house, but in order to be licensed she had to build a commercial kitchen in her basement and there were lots of requirements for her to pass her health inspection. I'll be interested to hear what you find out- where in WI are you?

Yeah i'm just starting to look into it. I have no where near enough money to afford to do something like that right now, but maybe a few years. (I'm only 20) I'm in south east WI. Im about 15 minutes west of Kenosha.

weidertm24 Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 2:28am
post #4 of 7

bump.

love2makecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
love2makecakes Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 1:39pm
post #5 of 7