Prices Of Cakes And Cupcakes In The Uk?

Business By JamAndButtercream Updated 15 Aug 2011 , 10:27pm by JamAndButtercream

JamAndButtercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JamAndButtercream Posted 14 Aug 2011 , 7:17pm
post #1 of 12

Hi Everyone,
While I'm not new to making cakes, I'm new to selling them, and before I think about selling cakes and cupcakes, I was wondering if anyone could give me a bit of advice on prices? Just general ideas of prices would be great, because I definatley don't want to be under or over charging!
Maybe someone could tell me prices of say, per sheet cake, per single tier round cake, a single tier carved cake, per cupcake, per dozen cupcakes, per 3 tiered wedding cake?........wow sounds like I'm asking a lot,
anyway any help is great, thanks in advance! icon_smile.gif

11 replies
Lemmers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lemmers Posted 14 Aug 2011 , 7:29pm
post #2 of 12

Hiya- I'm in exactly the same boat and have been sat for the last 2 hours figuring out the cost just to make a WASC cake (using the recipe on here).

Its a long process, but I literally figured out the cost per cup of each ingredient I tend to use (butter/flour/eggs/sugar etc) so I could then figure out how much each of my chosen recipes cost. This will obviously depend where you buy ingredients etc, but my costs so far have been done based on ASDA prices so as not to undercharge and make a loss (plan to go wholesale once I get going).

Anyway, I figured a 9" square WASC (x2 as I do 2 layers), plus buttercream to fill & crumb coat, then 1.25kg renshaw regalice to simply cover the cake, worked out at £16.

Having a break for now but plan to figure out my favourite cupcake recipes soon as well, and then my brownies!

HTH!!

Lemmers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lemmers Posted 14 Aug 2011 , 7:32pm
post #3 of 12