Powdered Sugar~Advice!!

Decorating By MelaMang75 Updated 12 Aug 2011 , 12:14pm by Elaine2581

MelaMang75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MelaMang75 Posted 12 Aug 2011 , 5:31am
post #1 of 5

Ok, so I have been a huge fan of Domino powder sugar. I've always had the best results with it for everything I do. My only choices of brands in my area are Domino, or local store brands (Walmart, Kroger, and Aldi). As much as I'm scared to death to change, Domino is now $2.50 a bag at WM!!!! I'm
either going to have to change to store brand at $1.48 a bag or change my cake prices. Anyone have suggestions??? I'm a home baker and don't have wholesale pricing abilities. Thanks in advance icon_smile.gif

4 replies
mburkett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mburkett Posted 12 Aug 2011 , 6:08am
post #2 of 5

I've been told that name brand sugar (C&H specifically) is made from sugar cane and that the store brands are made from beet sugar. I'm not sure about Domino (it's not big in my area). Not all packages say cane or beet. I'm sure the pro bakers can confirm.

I've Googled it and they are something like 99% identical but they have different cooking properties, (ie beet will burn darker than cane when used in creme brulee).

mburkett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mburkett Posted 12 Aug 2011 , 6:23am
post #3 of 5

One more thing....You can buy the large bags (50#) at Costco for much less than buying 2# bags.

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carmijok Posted 12 Aug 2011 , 7:07am
post #4 of 5

The other day I noticed that C&H powdered sugar in the box cost 86 cents and it is one pound. I looked at the 2 pound bag and it was running around 2.50. Hmmm, what to do, what to do? Hey! I'll buy 2 boxes of C&H powdered sugar and get 2 pounds of powdered sugar ...the same amount in the bag...for $1.72 as opposed to $2.50!