Sunflower Cupcakes For A Wedding

Baking By PinkeSugarhigh Updated 13 Aug 2011 , 4:28pm by galliesway

PinkeSugarhigh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkeSugarhigh Posted 7 Aug 2011 , 6:51pm
post #1 of 11

First let me say that I am pretty new to decorating. I have completed the basic cake decorating course through Wilton and have been actively trying new techniques, etc.
I am making cupcakes for a wedding as a gift this coming weekend. I am extremely nervous as the wedding and reception are going to be held outside, while the cupcakes will be shaded, I am worried about the temperature affecting the flowers as the weather channel says it's supposed to be about 95.
The bride wants sunflowers so I was thinking about doing either butter-cream or royal icing flowers. However I'm not sure if I should make them ahead of time on or off the cupcakes so they will be hard and hopefully not wilt outside. I am looking for advice so any help is welcome.
Please and Thank you in advance

10 replies
fondantgrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fondantgrl Posted 7 Aug 2011 , 7:07pm
post #2 of 11

I would use fondant for the Sun flowers considering that it will be in the 90's.. royal icing would work too.

JamAndButtercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JamAndButtercream Posted 7 Aug 2011 , 7:14pm
post #3 of 11

Hi,
If its going to be hot, I'd say buttercream is a no no, its probably going to melt
I think if the sunflowers are fondant the heat will effect them too, they probably will start to "wilt"
Royal icing would possibly be better, if the cupcakes are decorated before you go and the royal icing has gone solid
The nature of gum paste is to go hard also, so gum paste could be a possibilty, but I'm not an expert on gumpaste.
I'm positive though, that buttercream or fondant will melt.

hope this helped. birthday.gif

shuswapcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shuswapcakes Posted 9 Aug 2011 , 2:23am
post #4 of 11