Wedding Cake Price....

Decorating By lealea2011 Updated 7 Aug 2011 , 10:10pm by maendings

lealea2011 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lealea2011 Posted 6 Aug 2011 , 4:29am
post #1 of 4

Hello Cakers icon_smile.gif
I need some advise!!! I am a self taught cake maker and have just recieved my FIRST ever wedding cake order...exciting.... well it was until I tried to determine a price!

It is to be a 3 tier cake (choc mud bottom, caramel mud middle and vanilla top) covered in buttercream and surrounded all around each tier with chocolate panels!

The bottom tier will be 12" x 12" and get smaller as we go up tiers...
I am thinking I will probably have to make 2 seperate cakes for each layer and use buttercream in between to add height...

Can anyone advise me on a suitable price for this order???

3 replies
maendings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maendings Posted 6 Aug 2011 , 7:30pm
post #2 of 4

I purchased CakeBoss software awhile ago and it is the best thing since sliced bread! You put in your master ingredients, then your recipe and it tells you your cost. How much a tsp. of vanilla and how much your flour etc. costs You also add how much per hour you feel you should charged plus your overhead. I do all scratch baking and it really has put my mind to rest.

Add up all of your ingredients (cake, icing, decorations) and triple it + cake box, boards, foils + how many hours it may take, oven and refrigerator time (you're using gas and electric)
Or you can charge x amount per slice...

Colleen

Briarview Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Briarview Posted 7 Aug 2011 , 9:56pm
post #3 of 4

Colleen I have just purchased this also but I am having trouble using mls and litres in my recipes. It lets me put in under master ingredients but when I come to calculate it shows the item but doesn't calculate. Can you help. Probably very simple. Other than that I find it quite simple to use. Thanks

maendings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile