Tentative Wedding Date?

Business By MamaMia808 Updated 2 Aug 2011 , 8:11pm by MamaMia808

MamaMia808 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MamaMia808 Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 8:30pm
post #1 of 9

i recently participated in a wedding expo and got an email from a bride I met there. She is asking to order some cupcakes and a cake for this September. Then she says, "The challenge: We are getting married this September, but don't have a date and may not have a date until about 1-2 weeks before the actual date. What is your cancellation policy? Are you flexible if I give you a tentative date, however, it might be pushed one week later?"

I'm pretty new to the weding business so I wanted to know if this is common. I can't for the life of me figure out how that would work and how ANY vendor could pull this off. I have already responded that I don't feel comfortable commiting to her order since I might have to make everything twice if the wedding is pushed back a week. Appropriate?

Thanks!

8 replies
luckylibra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luckylibra Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 8:58pm
post #2 of 9

Are they military maybe? I could not set a firm date for my wedding due to the ship schedule for my fiancee as they were not firm on a date they were going to be back in port..He had a two week leave when he got back but we were not sure which two weeks.. good luck

cai0311 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cai0311 Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 9:03pm
post #3 of 9

The bride isn't booking her wedding cake and cupcakes, she is booking a spot on your calendar and you happen to be making a wedding cake and cupcakes for her. I don't understand how a bride can't know her date when it is only one month from the the wedding.

I personally wouldn't feel comfortable with this either. I think you made the right call.

Also, I have never heard of this before. I have had brides call saying "we are getting married sometime next year and are checking prices" but it is more for budget info than anything else.