Cracking Gumpaste!

Decorating By sarahoward85 Updated 31 Jul 2011 , 2:00am by kakeladi

sarahoward85 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahoward85 Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 1:32pm
post #1 of 8

I'm fairly new at working w/ gumpaste and fondant, and I had to make a gumpaste figure this week. I had trouble hiding the creases from where I had kneaded it. Then as it dried it began to crack. Is there some sort of remedy for these issues?

7 replies
tjames30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tjames30 Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 1:44pm
post #2 of 8

I am having the same problem! My first time to ever use gumpaste. Mixed it with half fondant and attempted to make a sombrero and marracas. Checked on them this morning and the sombrero was cracking. Also, tried to make some flat cactus that need to stand up and the won't get stiff. What do I do or what should I use?

CupcakeQT82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CupcakeQT82 Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 3:15pm
post #3 of 8

I would say maybe try adding a bit of shortening/crisco to it while kneading it in. Also, make sure not to have any air blowing on it. THat's all I know! HTH!

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 3:28pm
post #4 of 8

Before you shape your gumpaste, you want to start with a ball that has a smooth surface. To get this, you want to roll the fondant/gumpaste in your hand, pressing it between your palms pretty good. If there are any cracks when you start shaping they will just get bigger as it dries.

Also when using gumpaste you do have to work quickly with it. The longer you work with it the more the 'skin' starts to crust over, and then as you mess with that, it will just make cracks or like elephant skin.

I made a large moon/sun a few years ago. I want to say I used mostly fondant, but I coated it with crisco as I was working with it, to help keep it from drying out on me.