Taste Testing - How Do Do The Cakes

Decorating By CupcakeQT82 Updated 28 Jul 2011 , 6:36am by madcobbler

CupcakeQT82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CupcakeQT82 Posted 27 Jul 2011 , 8:44pm
post #1 of 12

So, I am new with my side business of cakes and I've only done a few taste testing sessions for brides so far. I have made up to 3 flavors and filling and icing with max of 3 people. So far I've had to make each mini 6-inch cake from scratch before the taste testing. I had a friend of mine say when she got married her cake lady had cakes frozen and then brides could pick from the frozen cake flavors. I am uneasy about the freezing because I like freshness.
What do you all do for your taste testing sessions? (Not the specifics on charging, number of people etc)

11 replies
GuiltyPleasures Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GuiltyPleasures Posted 28 Jul 2011 , 12:17am
post #2 of 12

[quote="What do you all do for your taste testing sessions? (Not the specifics on charging, number of people etc)[/quote]

I would be interested in hearing this as well.

JSKConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JSKConfections Posted 28 Jul 2011 , 12:50am
post #3 of 12

Me too...I've had a few people ask about it, but then they just pick a flavor. On some TV shows some places look like they have a plate of just plain cake and dollops of fillings and frosting to try. Other ones it looks like a layer cake...do they make up a double sheet cake and cut and wrap and freeze? What a lot of work to make like 3 small cakes for free and the time, etc...or I assume these places are big and taking a sample of cake is already made so its not a big deal? Ideas would be helpful.

angelleyes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angelleyes Posted 28 Jul 2011 , 1:06am
post #4 of 12

good question.. I have been wondering about it myself to

southerncross Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
southerncross Posted 28 Jul 2011 , 1:22am
post #5 of 12