What Is Happening To My Cake When I Drop It Off??

Decorating By BakerzJoy Updated 26 Jul 2011 , 12:28am by jhay

BakerzJoy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakerzJoy Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 6:48pm
post #1 of 16

Okay CC pro's.....I am stumped. I have been doing cakes for over 10 years with no outside experience. I have kinda taught myself and learned along the way from my own mistakes.
Okay so here's what's happening....I make a cake, covered it in buttercream crumb coat, lay fondant over it and decorate it. Then I take photos and send it off to the client. While the cake is with me, it's perfect. Once the clients get it and bring it to the party and photogragh it, it's sagging and bulging on the bottom and where my layers are.
My first thought is the heat because it has been boiling here in GA. Then I'm thinking, maybe it's my work. Is my fondant to thick, is my frosting between the layers to much, is my cake WAY to soft?! HELP!!

I am up for constructive critisism so please guide me. Why does this happen and could it be me? How can I correct this so my cakes look good even in the clients pics too.

15 replies
JSKConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JSKConfections Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 7:03pm
post #2 of 16

I have had this happen at home this last weekend...we are thinking its the heat. I can't wait to read replys on this one too! Thanks for your question.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 7:25pm
post #3 of 16

tell us more, step by step what you're doing. Cakes in the fridge at any point? How thick is the bc layer? How thick is the fondant?

cai0311 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cai0311 Posted 25 Jul 2011 , 7:28pm
post #4 of 16

If you are just now having problems with sagging fondant, and you haven't changed a thing, then the heat is your most likely reason.

Have you ever tried using ganache instead of buttercream under your fondant. That is what I use and have yet to have a probem with sagging.