What Can I Do Better?

Decorating By laurajo1218 Updated 23 Jul 2011 , 1:31pm by cakeyouverymuch

laurajo1218 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laurajo1218 Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 1:11pm
post #1 of 3

These are my most recent cakes.

This is an 8 inch two layer cake. (12-16 Servings, yea?) I am already noticing that I should have put some type of border around the bottom.

Here is my other cake from this week. two layers each-top tier is 6 in and bottom is 8. (Would this be 32 servings?)

also...next question. What would YOU charge for each cake?
Thanks SO much for your help!!

2 replies
poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 1:29pm
post #2 of 3

Hello laurajo,
I'm just a hobby baker, so first of all, I can't presume to know everything. Since I don't charge for cakes, I can't help you with pricing. Also, I don't cover cakes in fondant, so I really can't help you there, although it does appear nice and smooth. I do think you have chosen interesting color combination on each cake.
But I can give you one little piece of advice. Looking at your cake boards, they appear naked, lol. I would suggest that you cover your cake board in something, preferably something that complements the cake design. In a pinch I use freezer paper, shiny side out. You can also use colored wrapping paper or fabric, covered with contact paper and a cake board placed on top to keep the cake off of the contact paper.
Here's a cake board covered in fabric:
http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1579890
and here's one covered in wrapping paper:
http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1959923

Hope this helps.

cakeyouverymuch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeyouverymuch Posted 23 Jul 2011 , 1:31pm
post #3 of 3