Getting Cake Smooth

Decorating By nhillis07 Updated 22 Jul 2011 , 6:08pm by EvArt

nhillis07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nhillis07 Posted 22 Jul 2011 , 2:27am
post #1 of 10

Hey all...I am new to cake decorating and am needing some tips/ideas on how to get cakes perfectly smooth! I have tried the getting as smooth as possible then going over it with a Vive napkin and fondant smoother...are there any other ideas out there? Does it just take a lot of practice? Thanks!

9 replies
ShandraB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShandraB Posted 22 Jul 2011 , 2:48am
post #2 of 10

Are you working with butter cream or fondant?

nhillis07 Posted 22 Jul 2011 , 3:10am
post #3 of 10

Buttercream...I have been letting it harden for a bit then going back over it with the napkin and fodant smoother.

angelleyes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angelleyes Posted 22 Jul 2011 , 3:18am
post #4 of 10

instead of viva did u try parchment paper?

psurrette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psurrette Posted 22 Jul 2011 , 3:28am
post #5 of 10

Don't let it sit too long or it doesn't work as well. I usually do it about 5-10 min after I ice a cake. I also use a piece of copy paper. Do you use a bench scraper? that will make less lines in the sides of the cake as well.

VentureSister Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VentureSister Posted 22 Jul 2011 , 3:33am
post #6 of 10

Try the Melvira method. Take a high density foam roller to the icing after letting it crust slightly. Same principle as with the viva towel. The roller works much faster for me.

sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillywabbitz Posted 22 Jul 2011 , 3:36am
post #7 of 10