What Would You Charge?

Decorating By EvArt Updated 22 Jul 2011 , 4:58pm by EvArt

EvArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EvArt Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 9:29pm
post #1 of 8

Hi, I'm still learning to set my prices. Especially for non-friends/family. lol I just made my 2nd wedding cake last weekend for a friend's wedding and got a request to do a similar cake in November for one of her relatives. So I am curious as to how much YOU might have charged for this cake? And it's easier for me to give you my CC link since it already has all of the details on it:

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/2101132

I normally use several friend's advice and charge the cost of my supplies x 3 giving me a price for a cake. And I only charged my friend $200 to do this wedding cake, but it was also my gift to her.

Thanks in advance for any tips.

7 replies
brenda549 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brenda549 Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 9:40pm
post #2 of 8

For me, I charge $4.25 and up per serving for tiered cakes. With those cake sizes, that would have been 196 servings bringing the total to $833. The ribbons and "bling" would have been extra.

Take in mind, I am also of the thought that dummy tier or not, it takes the same amount of time to decorate the cake. Dummy tiers in my parts do not come cheap, especially a 14" one.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 9:46pm
post #3 of 8

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-694973-pricing.html

The times three thing doesn't really work. Your labor is going to add up way more than your supply cost.

caymancake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
caymancake Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 10:45pm
post #4 of 8

I would charge $4 per serving plus the cost of the bling and rental for the base icon_smile.gif. More if it was premium flavours. ditto what brenda549 said about the dummy tiers - to me its not really a cost saver by the time I order it etc.

Annabakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile