How Do You Practice All These Yummy Flavors?

Decorating By MommyLovesChocolate Updated 20 Jul 2011 , 9:39pm by CheChe18

MommyLovesChocolate Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MommyLovesChocolate Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 3:52pm
post #1 of 18

I see all these great flavors and I want to try them all. How do you practice making and decorating different cakes and more importantly, what do you do with all the cakes so you don't eat them all?

I've thought about making 6" cakes, but what to do with the extra batter? Do you cut recipes in half to try them out? I've been using the doctored cake mix recipes, not scratch.

Thanks!

17 replies
theCword Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theCword Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 4:04pm
post #2 of 18

I'm new to this so for what it's worth, what i do is daydream/ fantasize all day about cakes. I then ponder and think who's having a party or a get together. I then offer to make a cake somehow. I then try to decide which one of my fantasies will I make a reality.

I did make a cake for the heck of it over the weekend to practice MMF and I ate a slice (and a couple of bites more icon_cool.gif ) and brought the rest to work the next day. Get it out of my face ASAP!

I seem to be getting the itch alot more frequently lately and that scares me. I cannot afford to eat cake like that!

shanter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shanter Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 4:16pm
post #3 of 18

I have cake-making fever too, but I'm diabetic! I make a cake that I want to try out and then take it to work--they'll eat anything! (and tell me the truth).

JSKConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JSKConfections Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 4:23pm
post #4 of 18