I'm New

Decorating By hellava1 Updated 21 Jul 2011 , 1:53am by fedra

hellava1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hellava1 Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 2:20pm
post #1 of 6

Soooo....I've been baking for years (family, friends, co-workers) and this year I've decided to make my dream a reality and start my own business. I'm wanting to expand my inventory and buy more supplies but I really don't know what I need to get first. I'm new to using fondant and gum paste. I'm also getting requests to do several theme cakes (which is new to me).

1. What supplies should I start off with (ie cake pan sizes, utensils, etc. etc.)
2. What's the easiest (inexpensive) way to show off my creative side (theme cakes)? Should I buy cake dummies?

5 replies
QTCakes1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
QTCakes1 Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 4:08pm
post #2 of 6

This is a large question with more then one answer, that actually only YOU can answer. If your going into business, I usggest you do more research about your target market and what type of cakes you want to do to see what you'll need. I also suggest you learn more about the use of fondant and gumpaste before selling those type of products. Like I said, no one can answer this, but you. We don't know what your business plan is or what you are trying to accomplish and even if we did, we still couldn't answer that for you. Asking that question here is not going to tell you what you need for your area of business.

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 21 Jul 2011 , 12:44am
post #3 of 6

What kind of cakes do you want to do? Weddings? Birthdays? That will be a big part of how you market yourself.

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carmijok Posted 21 Jul 2011 , 1:23am
post #4 of 6