Edible Diamond And Pansies

Decorating By AmysEdibleArt Updated 19 Jul 2011 , 3:03am by ctackett

AmysEdibleArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmysEdibleArt Posted 18 Jul 2011 , 12:39am
post #1 of 12

Hi.. I am very new to the cake baking scene and need help. I am looking to make a cake with three diff size pansies scattered about it with diamonds in the centers. HELP - I can't find a set with three sizes and diamonds are pricey.. Any advice appreciated

11 replies
Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 18 Jul 2011 , 12:50am
post #2 of 12

I don't know about the pansy cutters, but you can make your own diamonds with a silicon mold (you can get them online) and a kind of sugar called isomalt. You can find instructions by googling something like "isomalt gems".

ctackett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ctackett Posted 18 Jul 2011 , 1:22am
post #3 of 12

I made pansies with buttercream using the the 104 rose tip

AmysEdibleArt Posted 18 Jul 2011 , 3:13am
post #4 of 12

Any idea where to get a mold from and is it worth it??? I thought of piping pansies but was't sure if using a mold or cutter would be the easiest. The flowers will be solid in color with centers painted and then diamond.

AmysEdibleArt Posted 18 Jul 2011 , 10:05am
post #5 of 12

I looked at the attached post..AWESOME!!! I guess I just need to figure out how to get that diamond color look (silver) ???? Ideas

Marianna46 Posted 18 Jul 2011 , 2:17pm
post #6 of 12