First Impressions Baby 1

Decorating By Kew13 Updated 13 Jul 2011 , 3:52pm by Yeni131

Kew13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kew13 Posted 13 Jul 2011 , 3:18pm
post #1 of 4

Hello,

I am in need of some help, I am very new to cake decorating and have offered to do my nieces christening cake, I brought a baby 1 first impressions mold, I havent used it yet,But I was wondering what is the best thing to use in it and is it easy to use... i dont want to pop out and alien.
Also I was wondering what to colour the baby in, and whats the best and realisic colours to use and buy. etc.

Hope you all can help me.

thank you

Katy icon_sad.gificon_redface.gif

3 replies
paula0712 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paula0712 Posted 13 Jul 2011 , 3:38pm
post #2 of 4

I just use fondant (peachy colored for caucasian babies) mixed with a little tylose. Press it into the mold then freeze for about 10 minutes the "pop" the baby out. I'm not much of an artist but I've seen a tutorial on here for painting your baby after. Here's the tutorial:
http://cakecentral.com/articles/683/how-to-make-a-gumpaste-baby-with-mold

Hope this helps!

jlcalvert Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlcalvert Posted 13 Jul 2011 , 3:38pm
post #3 of 4

This is the tutorial I used...
http://cakecentral.com/articles/683/how-to-make-a-gumpaste-baby-with-mold.
The is also a good one on youtube.
As far as color goes, I use ivory with a little bit of copper but you really need to play with that on your own.

Yeni131 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Yeni131 Posted 13 Jul 2011 , 3:52pm
post #4 of 4

I am a newbie too. I have done 3 babies using the mold. My first one was the best one coz I used a lot more extra fondant/gumpaste mixture.

First color your 50:50 gumpaste/fondant, a little bit at a time until you get the skintone you want. I used the colored fondant ( light brown and pink) you can also use copper and ivory. The amount of your fondant/gumpaste mixture should be about 2oz or the size of your mold.