How Many Layers Of Cake Should I Use For Each Tier On A Cake

Decorating By jettabug27 Updated 12 Jul 2011 , 9:56pm by CakeandDazzle

jettabug27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jettabug27 Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 7:37pm
post #1 of 11

i am a new baker and i have decided to make my sister a 3 tier birthday cake for 18th birthday. i have already came to the conclusion that i am going to use a 12 in cake for the bottom tier, a 9 in cake for the middle tier, and a 6 in cake for the top tier. the only problem i have is that im not really sure how many layers of cake i should use for each tier? icon_sad.gif somebody please help...any suggestions????

10 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 7:43pm
post #2 of 11

For tiered cakes we typically use 3 layers in each tier, but if you wanted shorter tiers you could use 2 layers instead.

FYI that cake will probably serve around 75 people.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 7:46pm
post #3 of 11

Two 2" tall layers are typical, but you can use as many as you like that equal 4 inches if you're going for typical, or more layers if you're going for another look... keep in mind that you need a support system for every 4" of cake height.

http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm

CakeandDazzle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeandDazzle Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 8:06pm
post #4 of 11

i do 2 just about 2in cakes cut in half for each tier, so 4 layers cake 3 layers filling

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 8:15pm
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CakeandDazzle

i do 2 just about 2in cakes cut in half for each tier, so 4 layers cake 3 layers filling

Ditto

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 12 Jul 2011 , 8:19pm
post #6 of 11