A Level Iced Top

Decorating By AnnieCahill Updated 11 Jul 2011 , 1:30pm by snocilla

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 10 Jul 2011 , 10:52pm
post #1 of 25

So I've been doing cakes now for about 13 years...and I am still running into this problem which makes me want to slam my head into the counter/refrigerator/window/any available hard surface. I can get smooth sides on my cake-no problem. But a LEVEL iced top? No way. The actual cake is level, but I am seriously having difficulties when it comes to getting the top level and smooth.

Usually I crumb coat, then put a giant blob on the top and work it onto the sides, go around it with a scraper a thousand times, then take the "collar" of icing around the edges over the top.

Am I missing something? Luckily I put a bunch of crap on top and on the ledges of my cakes (when they are stacked), borders, etc. to hide the unevenness, but I have a cake coming up where the top edges should really look smooth and crisp (with no borders-eek!). I read about the upside down method which I was thinking about trying, but it seems so cumbersome and time-consuming.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Annie

24 replies
ramie7224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ramie7224 Posted 10 Jul 2011 , 11:11pm
post #2 of 25

You could try icing the cake upside down. Here's a link to a tutorial on how to do that.

http://cakecentral.com/articles/69/upside-down-icing-technique-for-perfectly-smooth-icing

AnnieCahill Posted 10 Jul 2011 , 11:53pm
post #3 of 25

Yeah I had looked at that method, but it seems like it's very time consuming and from what I've read it only works about half the time.

I was just wondering what the tricks were for those who get those perfectly level even iced tops.

Thanks!

sugarxosugar143 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarxosugar143 Posted 10 Jul 2011 , 11:59pm
post #4 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnieCahill