Your Best Tips For An Absolute Newbie?

Decorating By LadySiren Updated 18 Jul 2011 , 11:57pm by LadySiren

LadySiren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LadySiren Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 9:36pm
post #1 of 27

Hello, all -

Let me first state right up front that I am a complete, total, and utter newbie in terms of cakes (go ahead and laugh now, I won't mind icon_lol.gif ). I've always loved the idea of being able to make beautiful cake creations and now, a crazy friend of mine who has some experience in cake making / decorating has convinced me to give it a go for my daughter's birthday cake.

I'm going to be adventurous and even though it's my first try, I'm making a topsy turvy with my friend's help. Because I'm not sure about making a cake from scratch, I'm going the box cake / pudding route. I'm also thinking that based on my family's finicky tastebuds, I'm going to make MMF rather than go with commercial fondant. Yes, this does sound like a (forgive the pun) recipe for disaster, no?

So would anyone be willing to share your best tips for a successful first outing with this poor newbie? Carving, fondant, doweling, and recipe tips would be very, very welcome. I'm trying to research as much as possible before leaping in. Thanks in advance for any tips or advice (and for not laughing too loudly at my delusions of cake grandeur).

26 replies
langranny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
langranny Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 10:03pm
post #2 of 27

The first rule of cake decorating (if you are stacking a cake) is support, support, support. If you are going to try a topsy turvy, Google it first, there are some great tutorials and instructions. Remember, that each cake is actually sitting (on a cakeboard) flat inside a cut-out on the top of the cake below it.