Help! Icing Tastes Funny!???

Baking By knel Updated 8 Jan 2015 , 4:42pm by applecrisp1

knel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
knel Posted 8 Jul 2011 , 1:32am
post #1 of 12

I have been using the same icing recipe for 5 years now and have never had any trouble with consistency or taste. The last 3 cakes I have done, I have noticed a different taste. I'm doing everything exactly the same... For the latest, I bought a new thing of Crisco, a different brand of confectioner's sugar and different brand flavoring. Still came up with the same taste. Maybe it's a silly question, but could it possibly be my mixer making it taste funny?

The confectioners sugar seems to be really strong, overpowering any flavoring I use, and it only gets stronger/sweeter to use more flavoring. It almost has an "old- I've been sitting in the refrigerator for a few days" kind of taste to it, and everything is in date, and just purchased...

ANY IDEAS??? Anyone ever experienced anything like this?

11 replies
brown_suga Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brown_suga Posted 8 Jul 2011 , 1:45am
post #2 of 12

In the past I've had this issue when I put my KA beater in the dishwasher. I have the burnished aluminum one. If this is the case you may see a powdery grayish film come off your beater when you dry it.

cakestyles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakestyles Posted 8 Jul 2011 , 1:46am
post #3 of 12

If you bought a different brand of sugar and flavoring that's probably why it's tasting different to you. Or maybe I'm misunderstanding the post.

I doubt it's the mixer.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 8 Jul 2011 , 2:11am
post #4 of 12

Could it possibly by you? I mean as we grow older and /or are sick (in some way even if you don't think you are) your taste buds can be off.

ABelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ABelle Posted 8 Jul 2011 , 2:25am
post #5 of 12