Help, Fondant Gumpaste, Satin Ice Fondant,

Decorating By sholliebaby76 Updated 15 Jun 2011 , 6:01pm by Texas_Rose

sholliebaby76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sholliebaby76 Posted 15 Jun 2011 , 2:44pm
post #1 of 6

Good Morning All,

I have been STALKING the board now for weeks.... I am very very new to this... My Mother was a cake and candy shop owner back in the day, she used marizpan I think it is called.. I consider myself an artsy kinda people and love to create things. I have posted the first cake I made in my photos. I am now wanting to mold shapes. I am confused to say the least. I have played with fondant the last week, and enjoy it alot! My problem is I find it is staying soft and I am wanting to make a few people for a farm cake, and also a high heel shoe I have a pattern for. any advice onw aht I should use or what works best? it is just pratcie makes perfect. I saw satin ice was wayyy cheaper online than anything I can find locally. Any and all help would be greatly appericated!!! I will try and up load a pic of my first try.

Have a wonderful day!
Shelly

5 replies
xrondagailx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xrondagailx Posted 15 Jun 2011 , 3:19pm
post #2 of 6

Fondant gets hard after a week but gumpaste will hard in an hour or more. You can mix both in varying portions. You might want to look up mmf- marshmallow fondant. mmf 101 is great tasty, easy to make, and cheap. Takes time but worth it. Check out youtube for demos on sculpting. Good Luck

sholliebaby76 Posted 15 Jun 2011 , 3:27pm
post #3 of 6

Thanks for replying, I really think I am rolling it to thin, Thinking that I am using to much!

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 15 Jun 2011 , 4:05pm
post #4 of 6

For figures I'd use a mix of half fondant, half gumpaste, if you've got enough time for them to dry completely. If you need them to dry fast, then use just gumpaste. For shoes, I'd just use gumpaste.