How Do I Make Snow Texture On 4 Tier Cake, Not Coconut

Decorating By briannasparrot Updated 2 Apr 2014 , 6:23pm by AZCouture

briannasparrot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
briannasparrot Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 9:07pm
post #1 of 17

I am doing a 4 tier wedding cake and the bride would like the sides and top to have a snow texture to it. She does not like coconut and I need to use something that will stick to the cake. The spray on shimmer is not textured enough for her. Does anyone have any ideas as it will be all over the cake so it needs to taste good too. she sent me this picture as her inspiration but it looks like coconut.

16 replies
DianeLM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DianeLM Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 9:10pm
post #2 of 17

I used sanding sugar on this cake. See the description.

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1168552

briannasparrot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
briannasparrot Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 9:14pm
post #3 of 17

I am still fairly new to this but can the sanding sugar be found easily? I think the glitter gel I have but not sure if Ive seen sanding sugar. Im assuming brush the gel on light coat and then dust with the sanding sugar?

theresaf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theresaf Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 9:15pm
post #4 of 17

can you use grated/microplaned white chocolate? Good luck!

Chellescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chellescakes Posted 15 Jun 2011 , 9:58am
post #5 of 17

get some fondant , and break it up into little bits on a tray or baking paper. let it dry out , break it up into smaller pieces and let it dry out again, I then put it through a sieve , and you have edible snow. I sometimes add a little edible glitter to it just to give it a bit of a shine.

leepat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leepat Posted 15 Jun 2011 , 10:26am
post #6 of 17

This is what shaved white choc will look like.

leepat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leepat Posted 15 Jun 2011 , 10:27am
post #7 of 17

Sorry pic won't post.