Reviews On Wilton Buttercream

Baking By Pearl645 Updated 15 Jun 2011 , 7:53pm by sweetcakesbyjen

Pearl645 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pearl645 Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 2:40am
post #1 of 22

Hey all icon_smile.gif

I have been using Wilton's basic buttercream recipe for 2 years now.

It works well as a crusting BC but I can't help but wonder what reviews you CC decorators have received from clients and friends.

Do you like Wilton's basic BC recipe or do you have a better one that you and everyone raves about?

If yes, kindly could you share links to better BC recipes.

Looking for something new. Just a basic vanilla BC recipe that I can change flavourings and get different BC flavours.

21 replies
sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 8:08am
post #2 of 22

I haven't used the Wilton recipe for eleven years. I was given a recipe from a cake decorator and have used it ever since. It crusts nicely and has no meringue powder in it. I use 2 pounds powdered sugar, 1 1/2 cups Hi ratio shortening, 1/2 cup salted butter, 2 tablespoons clear vanilla and 1/3 cup water. Frost, let crust for 10 to 15 minutes and smooth with a paper towel.

poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 1:35pm
post #3 of 22

try Indydebi's!

cakesbybeccam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbybeccam Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 1:56pm
post #4 of 22

I stopped using Wiltons because it has butter in it. Wiltons didn't hold up well with my summer cakes, they would look greasy and the frosting would melt. I now use Indydebi's recipe. It tastes great and it is a crusting butter cream.

warchild Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
warchild Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 2:08pm
post #5 of 22