Gluten Free.. Is It Worth The Effort?

Baking By tokazodo Updated 15 Jun 2011 , 11:15pm by coleslawcat

tokazodo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tokazodo Posted 13 Jun 2011 , 12:23am
post #1 of 13

Recently I have had several cake requests for gluten free. As a traditional baker, I am not familiar with gluten free and would need to do the research/ experiment with it.
Has anyone found a decent cake recipe for gluten free cake?
Is it worth the effort, offering your customers that additional choice?

12 replies
Cealy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cealy Posted 13 Jun 2011 , 12:34am
post #2 of 13

I made one from a mix the other day, I found the mix and wanted to try it before I tried making one from scratch so I would know what the 'taste' was like.
The mix was rather expensive 5.99 for a small 9" cake, didn't rise a whole lot either!
One of the managers where I work has a gluten allergy so this was a treat made special for her! I bring in things once in a while and she can never have any-so this was made for her!
She is a chocoholic too so thinking the cake would be nasty, I cut it into three layers (due to it not rising very high) and put two layers of chocolate buttercream in between.
I took it in and she looked like she was drooling waiting to eat it! lol
Everyone including the non-gluten people loved it!
So if anything just seeing how happy she was FINALLY getting a piece of cake was worth the trouble and expense.
Now saying that, another friend of mine is highly allergic to gluten and dairy, she has a recipe for A/P flour that she uses where you barely can tell the difference-I am getting it from her to try more gluten free cakes so everyone can enjoy my creativity!

cownsj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cownsj Posted 13 Jun 2011 , 12:49am
post #3 of 13

So far I have only used the Betty Crocker gluten free. As already said, it's very expensive and barely rises. You only get one layer out of a mix as opposed to a typical two layers.