Crisp Clean Cakes

Decorating By cabecakes Updated 14 Jun 2011 , 6:13pm by GarciaGM

cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 6:05am
post #1 of 21

I have been doing cakes for a couple of years now, and I am finally starting to get comfortable with the techniques required to make the cakes, buttercream, and fondant. But I just can't seem to get that crisp edge and clean look that others do. Are there any helpful tools, techniques that would help, or is it simply a matter of "practice makes perfect"? I only get to do this as a hobby, so I don't really get the amount of practice I would like between work and taking care of the house and daughter's activities.

20 replies
mena2002 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mena2002 Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 7:00am
post #2 of 21
LisaPeps Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaPeps Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 7:45am
post #3 of 21

Use the upside down icing technique to get the crisp edges. Use it either with ganache or a meringue buttercream (ganache is easier). There is a video on this website http://jessicakesblog.blogspot.com/2011/06/video-tutorial-upside-down-frosting.html. Once you get your icing smooth, you can cover it with fondant which is rolled really thin.

FleurDeCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FleurDeCake Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 8:12am
post #4 of 21

Try getting the DVD "Perfecting The Art of Butter Cream" from Sugar Ed Productions.....Her technique is great and she is an excellent teacher.

2txmedics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2txmedics Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 3:25pm
post #5 of 21

Lisa, went to that blog and its gone...any other ideas?

Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 5:01pm
post #6 of 21

Lisa's link didn't work for me either but the video is still definitely on the blog. I'm linking it again here - try it and see http://jessicakesblog.blogspot.com/2011/06/video-tutorial-upside-down-frosting.html