Question Re: Flower Paste

Decorating By horuswaspretty Updated 5 Jun 2011 , 3:15pm by Valkstar

horuswaspretty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
horuswaspretty Posted 4 Jun 2011 , 9:35pm
post #1 of 8

Hello. I have only just got into cake decorating so am new to all the materials and techniques. I recently ordered some flower paste so I could have a go at making some flowers. Im not sure when it was delivered as I didnt get a card through the door or anything. Anyway, it was left in my back garden for an unknow period in the heat and im worried that it may have been effected. I have not opened it but from feeling it through the foil packaging it is very, very hard. It takes a lot of force to make a dent in it. As I said im new to this so im not sure if this is normal or not. I dont want to make a complaint to the place I brought it from as it could well be normal. So is this right? Orhas the heat made it harden? Thank you for any help you can give me.

7 replies
tbkimber Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tbkimber Posted 4 Jun 2011 , 10:23pm
post #2 of 8

It should not be hard. It should be soft and pliable. It is only going to get harder once it is opened and exposed to air.

horuswaspretty Posted 4 Jun 2011 , 10:35pm
post #3 of 8

Thank you for the help. I thought this was the case but wanted to check before contacting the seller as it was obviously the courier at fault and not them so wanted to be sure before I contacted them.

sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 5 Jun 2011 , 3:03am
post #4 of 8

Why don't you make your own it's less expensive and works wonderfully. Four large egg whites, 12 teaspoons Tylose powder, 1/4 cup shortening and 2 pounds powdered sugar. Let rest in fridge for 24 hours before use.

horuswaspretty Posted 5 Jun 2011 , 8:38am
post #5 of 8