Am I The Only One Who Only Uses Buttercream?

Decorating By jenabbott00 Updated 29 May 2011 , 1:38pm by jenabbott00

jenabbott00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenabbott00 Posted 28 May 2011 , 7:42pm
post #1 of 12

I am very interested in learning how to use fondant. I am fairly new to cake decorating. Took the 1st two wilton classes years ago and never did anything with it. Now I am very interested to get back into it and it seems everyone does fondant and gum paste. What's the best way to get started into fondant?

11 replies
Serena4016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Serena4016 Posted 28 May 2011 , 8:09pm
post #2 of 12

Wilton has a class on fondant and gumpaste. I took it a year ago and I would strongly recommend it to teach you the basics. That will get you started. After that it is just practice by working with it.

I've just taught myself by coming on Cake Central everyday and looking at other people's cakes (alot of times if you read the descriptions on people's pictures they will tell how they did a certain technique or you can ask how someone does a certain technique), reading forums, watching tutorials, reading magazines and books and experimenting.

Every cake or cupcake I make I try to do something different to see what can be done! The Wilton class taught covering a cake, making flowers, bows, how to make gumpaste glue, how to stick fondant to fondant and many other things.

Hope this helps.

cakegirl1973 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegirl1973 Posted 28 May 2011 , 8:15pm
post #3 of 12

I agree with the PP. I am completely self-taught from reading as much as I can online, including CC. Youtube has a number of great tutorials. Just dive in, read as much as you can and practice, practice, practice! Have fun!

Elaine2581 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elaine2581 Posted 29 May 2011 , 1:31am
post #4 of 12