Getting Legal In Ny

Business By SarahL4683 Updated 30 May 2011 , 5:40pm by SnLSweetEscapes

SarahL4683 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SarahL4683 Posted 25 May 2011 , 3:50am
post #1 of 7

I'm relatively new to the world of cake, I make a lot for friends and family, but that's it so far. I have been charging a small fee to cover everything (i just can't afford to do them for free), but I know I have a lot of work to do to get legal. Can anyone help guide me in the steps I need to do? I'm in Erie County. Please be nice about not being legal yet, I actually didn't realize how serious it was til I joined the world of cc! Of course no one mentioned any of these issues when I took my wilton classes, my teacher encouraged selling!

6 replies
ailika Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ailika Posted 25 May 2011 , 4:17am
post #2 of 7

I found this site not sure if it can help.

http://www.ehow.com/how_2056888_start-home-baking-business.html

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 25 May 2011 , 1:56pm
post #3 of 7

Is this in your home or outside your home? I does vary from county to county, but here is how it worked in my county.

In your home - contact your department of Agriculture. But don't bother to ask them to be nice, because they will tell it like it is. In your home you will not be able to advertise and you will only be able to sell through your local farmer's market and wholesale. They will come out and inspect your kitchen, give you a form and tell you all the rules you need to obey. If you have pets, be prepared to keep them out of the kitchen. You will not be able to sell cupcakes or decorated cakes directly to the public with this route.

You can build a department of health approved separate kitchen in your home, with a separate entrance (I think, not too sure about the entrance thing). The department of agriculture may be able to help you with those questions.