Buttercream Air Bubbles! Not Happy!!

Baking By jlien23 Updated 23 May 2011 , 1:18am by jlien23

jlien23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlien23 Posted 22 May 2011 , 5:37pm
post #1 of 9

Any suggestions/help/tips on how to get rid of those darn air bubbles in my buttercream?? I really am aware of not over mixing and I TRY not to but how can you incorporate all the powdered sugar and liquid and not mix?? I am a beginner and I just started having these problems since I switched to using a high ratio shortening in my bc. I was so unhappy with a cake I did yesterday because of the air bubbles and I worked so hard on this cake. It was for a bridal shower and had a fondant wedding dress on it and I was just so proud of myself for doing that on only my second time working with fondant. But then I had the air bubbles and for the life of me could not smooth the bc. UNHAPPY! HELP!? I posted the pic in this thread. Thanks for looking/sharing with me!

8 replies
sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillywabbitz Posted 22 May 2011 , 5:58pm
post #2 of 9

The posting pics doesn't work in CC anymore so it's usually easier if you post the pics to your photos and then include a link.

The best trick to getting air bubbles out of buttercream is from SugarShack. It has to do with making sure your mixer isn't incorporating more air. I follow her recipe and instructions and I let that mixer go for 6 or 7 minutes so it's not the mixing time.

The trick is to get the buttercream over the beaters for the duration of the mixing. Are you using a stand up mixer? If so it's pretty easy to do but you have to adjust your recipe to fill the bowl. There are several version of Sugarshack's recipe in the recipe section based on the size of mixer you have. Also I find that if I don't add enough liquid I get more air bubbles that way.