Pencil Transfer Onto Fondant

Decorating By Crissielyn Updated 6 May 2013 , 8:49am by 2txmedics

Crissielyn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crissielyn Posted 19 May 2011 , 7:45pm
post #1 of 20

Hello,

I read an older post here where the person transferred a drawing onto their cake by drawing it out with pencil on paper and then laying the paper onto the fondant (pencil side down). I believe it left a faint line where she was then able to paint her image onto the fondant. Several sources online state that there is no lead in a #2 pencil and that the graphite used is harmless. (plus I would imagine it would only be a trace amount).

Does anyone have experience with this? How did it work out for you? I would imagine it would have to be done immediately after you put the fondant on the cake before it dries? Any tips?

Thanks!

19 replies
brown_suga Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brown_suga Posted 19 May 2011 , 8:28pm
post #2 of 20

I've never tried this technique before but Master Sugar Artist Toba Garrett uses this technique quite frequently in her books and classes. I have seen it done with a graphite pencil and it does leave a faint line on the fondant. I thought it was done when the fondant was slightly dry as to not leave an imprint when you rub the transfer on it but I'm not quite sure. You can always try it out on a small test piece of fondant first. HTH

m_willford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
m_willford Posted 19 May 2011 , 8:32pm
post #3 of 20

I know that when my DH got a huge chunk of pencil lead stuck in his foot, we were told it wouldn't really do any harm if it never came out, because it's just graphite. That being said, I don't think graphite is exactly food safe even if it's non-toxic. So I would hesitate. Piping gel might be a better alternative.

Surprisingly, petal dusts are non-toxic, but not meant for a consumption. Which is why they go on gum paste decorations. Who would eat those? Lol.