Bride Trying To Lower Price

Decorating By FCCakes Updated 12 May 2011 , 4:49pm by CakeDiva101

FCCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FCCakes Posted 11 May 2011 , 7:34pm
post #1 of 19

Hi Everyone,

I'm still a bit new to the whole wedding cakes scene and this one bride I had recently met with has just e-mailed me after "meeting up with other bakers" as she said. She wants to order her cake through me but wants to negociate the price. How does everyone handle this without being rude?
I think I'm giving her a good deal already.

18 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 11 May 2011 , 7:41pm
post #2 of 19

"I'm sorry but I can not lower the price, nor do I price match other bakers."

Keep it simple and sweet.

yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 11 May 2011 , 7:43pm
post #3 of 19

Give her the WalMart example!! "If you take $200 of stuff to the checkout, you aren't allowed to say 'I'd like to only pay $125 for all this stuff!'"

haha just kidding. I would simply tell her that because the increased cost of labor and materials, you aren't able to lower the price. If you're already giving her a great deal, maybe mention what you would charge for retail so she can see the cost difference.

I use that same trick every time I buy a car. Always saves me .5% - 1% off my interest rate when I tell the dealership that my credit union will finance me for __% icon_smile.gif I'm just sayin....

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 11 May 2011 , 7:45pm
post #4 of 19

Memorize what Texas said. Don't explain further or add anything to the sentence. Say it and then go silent.

It will work.

You might have to repeat it, but do it exactly the same way again. Say it, go silent.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 11 May 2011 , 7:46pm
post #5 of 19