Delivering A Wedding Cake!

Decorating By mzunique Updated 13 May 2011 , 3:33pm by cakegirl1973

mzunique Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mzunique Posted 11 May 2011 , 5:30pm
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone! I'm just starting out, and have gotten my first order for a wedding cake. The client asked me if I can deliver the cake the day of or if she should pick it up herself. I want to tell her I don't mind delivering it (for a small additional fee) but I am so nervous that something will happen to it during delivery! Does anyone have any tips ideas or advice for me?! Thanks so much in advance!

9 replies
Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 11 May 2011 , 7:24pm
post #2 of 10

Just think of it like a regular tiered cake. Just because it has "wedding" tacked in front of the word "cake", doesn't mean you should stress out too much over it. Do as you normally would for a tiered cake delivery, it will be fine. Use good support in the cake. Non-slip matting under the cake in your vehicle, a foldable cart for if you have to carry it a long way at the venue. Don't take the cake out until you have scouted where you are going with it - count how many doors you have to open or stairs you have to go up. And check you can pick the cake up on your own! Otherwise, you may have to travel with it in a couple of pieces and finish assembly on site. Take someone with you to help if you can. Don't let anyone touch or move the cake once it's set up - state you will not be responsible for any damage after you have left.
Take a picture when it's set up.
Good luck!

elvisb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elvisb Posted 11 May 2011 , 7:35pm
post #3 of 10