Ambitious First Wedding Cake! Advice Appreciated! (Long!)

Decorating By SugarFiend Updated 29 Aug 2011 , 3:34pm by luckylibra

SugarFiend Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFiend Posted 29 Apr 2011 , 3:46pm
post #1 of 18

I'm so excited to be doing my first wedding cake for my cousin this summer! I'm a hobby baker slowly moving toward getting a legal business running - and was thrilled to hear that the church will allow a cake made by a hobbyist.

Right now I'm in the planning stages, and it's an ambitious plan to say the least! And the more I plan, the more questions I have... So I'm seeking advice from the more experienced.

Following the sage advice I found from Indydebi in a thread awhile back, I anticipate needing 105-ish servings based on the general rule of 70% of invited guests. So the cake will be 6, 8, 10, and 12" rounds (118 servings, I believe, not counting the top tier), and I plan to use a 14 or 16" dummy for the bottom tier. I will be using SPS for most of the structure. And Heaven help me, she wants buttercream in August - not fondant. I've been practicing hard on my SMBC smoothing techniques. Although the final icing decision hasn't been made, I figure if I can smooth SMBC well, I can smooth anything. icon_smile.gif

So the order of the cake: Bottom tier is a 14" dummy (or would 16" look better?), then a 12". The 12 and 10 will be separated with gumpaste flowers. On top of the 10 I'd like to have a footed cake stand holding the 8 and the 6.

My first question is about baking the 12" cake. I'm wondering how many flower nails I should use, and if I should also use baking strips as well? The largest I've done is 10" and I only use 1 flower nail.