New Bus., But Want To Use Ccer's Pics

Business By GL79 Updated 4 May 2011 , 12:38am by Karen421

GL79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GL79 Posted 29 Apr 2011 , 1:23am
post #1 of 13

Ok, so I have been doing cakes for 2 years for friends and family and decided to start my own business. Here in NM we are allowed to bake from home so all I need is to get legal. My plan is to start small, since I work full time and I'm not planning on leaving my job, I enjoy what I do but I also enjoy making cakes. What I want to do is only offer small cakes, 6 & 8 inch round/square cakes at a fixed price, exactly what CharmCityCakes.com have on their website under "Cakes for Two". My only problem is that I don't have enough pictures of that size to post and was wondering if it would be a good idea to post your pics on a seperate folder and post a brief description of who made it and your website? Would anybody have a problem with this, or should I just wait until I get enough pics to post? Your input or any ideas are greatly appreciated.

12 replies
Evoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Evoir Posted 29 Apr 2011 , 1:32am
post #2 of 13

Hi there - I would only suggest IF you choose this path you ask each individual member personally if you can use any cake image they own. However, I think its preferable to make and decorate half a dozen of your own cakes and put them up on your website instead...make it all about you, because otherwise the lookers might follow a link and simply buy a cake made by someone else!

All the cakes on my website were designed and made by myself only...I started out with not that many photos, but now there are over 150 I think. As your business grows, you add more, which will suit YOU as you are starting small as you begin to incorporate this new venture into your life (especially with a full time job already).

FromScratchSF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratchSF Posted 29 Apr 2011 , 1:37am
post #3 of 13