Edible Hair Bows

Baking By sweet_tooth_0710 Updated 3 May 2011 , 12:02pm by Marianna46

sweet_tooth_0710 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet_tooth_0710 Posted 28 Apr 2011 , 7:46pm
post #1 of 19

Hi! I am brand new CC. I have a question and hopefully someone will be able to help me out icon_confused.gif I wanted to make cute little hairbows to put on cupcakes. I tried candy clay but when I roll it out and try to lift it, it just crumbles. So is there any "fool proof" product that I can use to roll out and cut then shape that won't have me scratching my head? I wanted to make them for my daughter's birthday party this weekend. TIA!!

18 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 28 Apr 2011 , 7:51pm
post #2 of 19

Fondant?

sweet_tooth_0710 Posted 28 Apr 2011 , 8:13pm
post #3 of 19

I have never used fondant...is it easy to use? I am very new to cake decorating and so far have only been using buttercream for everything icon_redface.gif

pat304 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pat304 Posted 28 Apr 2011 , 8:50pm
post #4 of 19

You can also use colorful candies to make cute little things like that. I love using starburst squares, warmed up in the MW and kneaded a little until soft - then roll out and form as you would with fondant or gumpaste. The bright colors are great, especially if you only have to make a few quickly and want different colors - I've used big gumdrops as well and have made flowers from both types of candies, too.

Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 28 Apr 2011 , 8:52pm
post #5 of 19