Client Upset At Cake She Ruined!

Decorating By FerrariGal Updated 24 Apr 2011 , 5:41pm by Tzoavva

FerrariGal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FerrariGal Posted 24 Apr 2011 , 1:50am
post #1 of 18

Ok... I really need an opinion as to what to do. I am just starting out and have come across my first issue with a client. I made her an Easter basket cake that was filled with cake pop "eggs". It took a lot of work and I definitely under charged. Anyway... At some point AFTER the cake left my house, the basket handle fell over and took chunks of the sides of the cake with it. The cake was made the night before pick up and was fine while here. She has now sent me an email saying the cake is unservable and is upset because of the money she spent. Keep in mind the cake was for a small family only birthday (8 people).

My question is what do I do?? I am obviously not making her a new cake, nor is there time to fix it. The way I see it, once it leaves here, my responsibility is done. Do I offer her some cupcakes or something to smooth things over. Or do I accept that I have lost a client and hope she doesn't smear my good name all over the place?? Help!!

17 replies
DSmo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DSmo Posted 24 Apr 2011 , 2:09am
post #2 of 18

I think it depends on the circumstances of how the handle fell. If it's because you didn't build it with adequate support to withstand transportation, then it's your fault and you owe her a refund. If it was because she abused it during transport, it's her fault and you owe her nothing. Problem is that regardless of what actually happened, she's blaming you. And there's probably no way to prove either scenario. I think you need to ask her "what can I do to make this right for you?" If you don't want her badmouthing you, you have to make her happy.

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 24 Apr 2011 , 2:15am
post #3 of 18