Graduating From Box Mixes To Scratch But Need Help!

Baking By integlspwr Updated 27 Apr 2011 , 7:39am by SweetcakesCT

integlspwr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
integlspwr Posted 21 Apr 2011 , 9:02pm
post #1 of 11

Ive been baking a lot of cupcake recipes that asks for a white box mix, but I've come to the conclusion that it taste too chemically / fake for me, even if I make it WASC version.

Can anyone help or point me into the right direction on finding great recipes for my cupcakes that require a white cake mix ?

Or your best seller recipes?

Thanks In Advance!

10 replies
scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 22 Apr 2011 , 6:30am
post #2 of 11

Do you really want white cake for the cupcakes or yellow? In my opinion, yellow has more flavor. I'm a scratch baker, but I really don't have a white recipe that I have used in cupcakes. I just like the yolks. If you want white, I'm sure someone has one. For yellow, Sylvia Weinstock's recipe and my favorite, CakeLove's, are available. CakeLove has a tutorial on his site for the cake, but it will work in cupcakes.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 22 Apr 2011 , 6:47am
post #3 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by integlspwr

Ive been baking a lot of cupcake recipes that asks for a white box mix, but I've come to the conclusion that it taste too chemically / fake for me, even if I make it WASC version.

Can anyone help or point me into the right direction on finding great recipes for my cupcakes that require a white cake mix ?

WASC cake (Rebecca Sutterby or kakeladi) is one of the more popular doctored cake mix recipes on CC.

If you don't care for that recipe, then I'm thinking you probably won't like any doctored cake mix recipe for the same reasons you've already stated.

HTH

FromScratchSF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratchSF Posted 22 Apr 2011 , 9:10am
post #4 of 11

And another one comes to our side of the universe, scp!