Help With The Swirls!!

Decorating By singinglark Updated 21 Apr 2011 , 2:26am by singinglark

singinglark Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
singinglark Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 7:37pm
post #1 of 11

First let me start by saying I am still a novice at cakes!!

My bride brought me this image and I can't figure out what the swirls are made off. At first I thought they were piped on, but look at the top swirl - it sits above the cake. Is that some type of icing that is piped in a swirl, dried and then stuck on the cake?

10 replies
JenFailla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenFailla Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 7:58pm
post #2 of 11

I'm definitely no expert, but could that be royal icing that was piped onto wax paper, left to harden and then attached to the cake? Anyone else have ideas??

Mfattore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mfattore Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 8:10pm
post #3 of 11

I agree its probably Royal Icing.

Kristie925 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kristie925 Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 8:14pm
post #4 of 11

I would guess that it's fondant.

jenng1482 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenng1482 Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 8:44pm
post #5 of 11

I dont know what it is but that is a beautiful cake! I love the offset dots on the front. Good luck with it and be sure to post pics of your interpretation.

Stella2010 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Stella2010 Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 8:55pm
post #6 of 11

I think it's fondant. The swirls look as though they have shimmer dust painted on them. I would make fondant swirls but use 50/50 fondant and gumpaste for the one that stands up off the top of the cake. That way you can still mold the others into the corners but the gumpaste one will dry hard and stand up. Good luck! Post pix when you've finished!

korean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
korean Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 9:00pm
post #7 of 11

I also think fondant/gumpaste the simmery look looks to painted on and it would be hard to get that even of a paint job on royal icing.