Help Please!

Decorating By momof2kids Updated 19 Apr 2011 , 11:20pm by momof2kids

momof2kids Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momof2kids Posted 19 Apr 2011 , 9:22pm
post #1 of 5

Hello, I am really new to cake decorating, and I have a question about stacking cakes. I have a lady who wants me to make a 3D tiger cake that will sit atop a 12-inch double layered round cake. The tiger will be about 7 inches tall. My question is do I put the tiger on it's own cake board and then just have dowel supports under it? Also would it be better to travel with them as two separate pieces and put the tiger on there? I have to drive it about an hour away. I will have a dowel through the middle of the tiger so that the head will stay attached better. Also, do I make the cake board that the tiger sits on the same shape as the tiger or just keep it round and frost over it? Sorry if these are dumb questions, but I have never done a stacked cake, ever, and I've also never done a cake for someone other than myself and family members. The same lady also wants 200 cupcakes with a tiger face on every single one of them. So any advice on those too, I will take. Thank you.

4 replies
Bri122005 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bri122005 Posted 19 Apr 2011 , 9:47pm
post #2 of 5

I'm not a "trained professional." Completely self-taught, so I'll let you know how I would do it b/c of my own trial and error. Definitely have the tiger on cardboard and cut the board the same shape as the tiger. I personally would wait to stack until arriving at the venue. I absolutely hate transporting stacked cakes and avoid it as much as possible. But, remember, that will mean you have to do all the final touchups and decorating on site as well. So, you'll need to arrive a little earlier with all your tools to ensure you have the time to set it all up properly. Have fun and good luck.

bakingpw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakingpw Posted 19 Apr 2011 , 9:51pm
post #3 of 5