Just Starting Out Making Cakes - Pricing??

Decorating By amcakemaker2011 Updated 16 Apr 2011 , 12:24am by JanH

amcakemaker2011 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amcakemaker2011 Posted 15 Apr 2011 , 3:03am
post #1 of 8

I have been making cakes for a while but not really beautiful cakes. I am just starting out so i was wanting to know how much i should charge for labor of ALL cakes that i make. When i say all cakes i mean all of them including 2 and 3-tier wedding cakes?

Thanks
amber

7 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 15 Apr 2011 , 10:33am
post #2 of 8

When pricing cakes, you'll want to look at the ingredient costs + labor costs (how much time it will take to bake and decorate the cake * a reasonable hourly wage, $10-30/hr depending on location and skill) + your overhead costs on a per-cake basis (insurance, licensing fees, utilities, inspection fees, etc.). Then add 20-30% for your profit margin.

amcakemaker2011 Posted 15 Apr 2011 , 3:16pm
post #3 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason_kraft

When pricing cakes, you'll want to look at the ingredient costs + labor costs (how much time it will take to bake and decorate the cake * a reasonable hourly wage, $10-30/hr depending on location and skill) + your overhead costs on a per-cake basis (insurance, licensing fees, utilities, inspection fees, etc.). Then add 20-30% for your profit margin.

I won't be turning it into an actual business for a quite a while from now like i said i am just starting out making fancy cakes. So i could charge about $10 an hr and be okay .. thanks for your help

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 15 Apr 2011 , 3:21pm
post #4 of 8

You'll also want to make sure you are operating within the law in your state...some states allow you to sell cakes made from home, but others require a separate commercial kitchen. Liability insurance is also a must as long as you are charging for food products.