Why Is It Such A Big Deal To Used Canned Frosting?

Decorating By laura4795 Updated 26 Jun 2013 , 12:24am by LoveMeSomeCake615

laura4795 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laura4795 Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 6:55pm
post #1 of 55

It just seems SO much easier to buy canned frosting when doing cakes. I'm just a hobbyist. I don't sell my cakes. I'm also very new at this.

Why is it considered such a no-no to use canned frosting for filler and for the crumb coating under fondant?

54 replies
Bubbl3h3ad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bubbl3h3ad Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 7:05pm
post #2 of 55

This is just my opinion but home-made frosting tastes so much better than canned frosting. When I taste canned frosting, I can tell immediately that it is from a can. Also, there are some designs that just do not work out well because of the texture and consistency of canned frosting. Maybe someone else can tell you in greater detail what the difference is.

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 7:05pm
post #3 of 55

Because it slides, Once you make a real butter cream, you will totally see the difference. With canned icing you will never get that nice finish.

wiggler Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wiggler Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 7:07pm
post #4 of 55

Homemade tastes so much better . For me its the only choice

sugarjones Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarjones Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 7:09pm
post #5 of 55

I wouldn't say it's a NO-NO but canned frosting never crusts so you can't do a "true" crumb coat and fondant will look lumpy with it underneath. I'd say as a filling it would be fine. Buttercream is SO much better in taste, appearance and texture. And let me tell you, if you have a kitchenaid mixer, it's a breeze to make. I'm pretty sure it's much cheaper than canned frosting as well. Give the real stuff a try, you'll never pick up a can again icon_smile.gif

pat304 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pat304 Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 7:22pm