Help Me Please....why Doesnt My Buttercream Come Out Right?

Baking By siomayra Updated 7 Apr 2011 , 12:57am by siomayra

siomayra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
siomayra Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 11:43pm
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone I'm new to cake central I love to bake and decorate cakes!!!! But I have been having a real hard time making my butter cream and royal cream for some reason it doesn't come out the way its suppose to be. I follow the directions and it still doesn't work. Please if anyone could give me some tips on how to overcome this I would appreciate it!!!!! I have to major cakes coming up but I want to make my own butter cream instead of the already made for you. icon_sad.gif

8 replies
awatterson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awatterson Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 11:54pm
post #2 of 9

What do you mean that it doesn't come out right? What happens to it? What recipe are you using? I had a problem using Crisco and had to switch to Walmart brand shortening because the butter and shortening would separate. Crisco doesn't have any transfat in it anymore.

mamabaer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamabaer Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 11:57pm
post #3 of 9

someone just posted a thread about this today. Sugar shack has a video on youtube that helps alot if you use her recipe. I use her mixing method, but with the Buttercream Dream recipe found here on CC.

It should help a lot! You have to do a double batch to get the frosting up over the mixing paddle so the air stays out of the frosting.

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carmijok Posted 7 Apr 2011 , 12:01am
post #4 of 9

Can't help you if you don't say what's happening.

And it's Royal Icing not Cream unless you're talking about something else. You probably need to beat it longer if it's not setting up. It does take a while.

My recipe for buttercream has no Crisco in it.
8 ounces of real butter softened (2 sticks),
8 ounces (1 box) cream cheese softened,